Tom Demmer takes oath for 102nd General Assembly

State Representative Tom Demmer, R-Dixon, was sworn in for a fifth term in the Illinois House of Representatives on Wednesday at a ceremony held at the Bank of Springfield Center.

“Today marks a pivotal fresh start for Illinois with the end of Mike Madigan’s long reign as Speaker,” said Demmer. “This is our opportunity to lead Illinois on a better path toward economic prosperity as we prepare to emerge from the pandemic. We face many challenges, but we have shown in the past that we are at our best when we set partisanship aside and work collaboratively.”

Demmer pointed to several bills from the previous General Assembly that were approved with bipartisan support and are now law, and said, “We came together on several major issues to enact meaningful economic reforms to bring jobs and opportunity back to Illinois. I am hopeful that same spirit of cooperation can be used to address other pressing issues, such as protecting jobs at the Byron nuclear plant and the need for fair maps during this redistricting year.”

The House of Representatives of the new 102nd General Assembly includes 73 Democrats and 45 Republicans. Following the swearing in, Representative Chris Welch of Hillside was elected Speaker of the House and Representative Jim Durkin of Western Springs was re-elected House Minority Leader.

Representative Demmer also retains his post as Deputy Republican Leader. As the second-highest ranking Republican in the Illinois House of Representatives, Demmer has a key voice in setting the House Republican agenda for the next two years. He was elevated to the position of Deputy Leader in July of 2018 after previously serving as the House Republican Caucus Chair.

As the 118 members of the General Assembly begin their work, Demmer is finalizing a comprehensive 2021 legislative agenda that focuses on improving access and delivery of health care services, protects taxpayers and improves government operations. Residents of the 90th District can learn more about legislation sponsored by Demmer during the spring legislative session on his website at

The 90th District is located in the northwestern Illinois counties of Ogle, Lee, DeKalb and LaSalle. The District includes all or portions of the following communities: Amboy, Ashton, Byron, Compton, Creston, Davis Junction, DeKalb, Dixon, Earlville, Franklin Grove, Grand Detour, Hillcrest, Lake Holiday, Lee, Leland, Lost Nation, Malta, Mendota, Monroe Center, Nelson, Oregon, Paw Paw, Polo, Rochelle, Sandwich, Shabbona, Somonauk, Steward, Stillman Valley, Sublette, Waterman and West Brooklyn.